A free library card is available to all Maricopa County residents with photo ID and separate proof of address (utility bill, post-marked mail, car registration, etc.). Non-Maricopa County residents may also obtain a card for $40 a year with ID and proof of address. Learn more about getting a library card.
How does a minor get a library card?
There is no age limit to receiving a library card. A parent or legal guardian must present a photo ID with proof of current address for a minor (children under 18) to get a card. Both parent and child must be present in order to register for a library card.
Students in grades K through 8th, who are county residents, may be issued an Avondale Public Library Student card if they have a current student ID issued by a Maricopa County school recognized and accredited by the state of Arizona and an acknowledgement form filled out by their parent or guardian. The student ID serves as proof of address. The card must be renewed annually. All other required information is the same. The card allows unlimited computer access but limits materials borrowing to five items at a time. No DVDs or items in our Beyond Books collection may be checked out on this card. Students do not accrue overdue fines on this account, but will be held responsible for lost or damaged items.
Students in grades 9th through 12th who are county residents may be issued an Avondale Public Library card if they have a current student ID issued by a Maricopa County school recognized and accredited by the state of Arizona or can provide documentation of registration in a recognized and accredited school in located in Maricopa County. The student ID serves as proof of address. The card must be renewed annually. All other required information is the same. The card allows unlimited computer access but limits materials borrowing to five items at a time. No DVDs or items in our Beyond Books collection may be checked out on this card. Students do not accrue overdue fines on this account, but will be held responsible for lost or damaged items.
Where can I use my library card?
Your card is valid at the Avondale Civic Center and Sam Garcia Western Avenue Libraries. Your library card allows home access to the Avondale Public Library catalog and research databases.
Can anyone in my family use my card?
Anyone can use your card with your permission. We do encourage all family members to obtain their own card. Be sure to let us know right away if the card is lost or stolen.
Do I need a library card to use the internet?
Your library card is your access to the Internet at the library! Non Maricopa County residents may obtain a monthly computer-use-only card for $5.00 or a visitors one-day pass for $1.00.
What should I do if my card is lost or stolen?
Report the loss immediately by calling us at 623-333-2665 to prevent unwanted charges to your account. You can replace your library card by showing photo ID and paying a $2.00 replacement card fee.
How do I replace a library card?
You can replace a library card by showing photo ID and paying a $2.00 replacement card fee. Minors under the age of 18 must have a parent or legal guardian present with photo ID to replace a card.
What if my address/telephone number has changed?
Please notify the library as soon as possible if your address, telephone number or email has changed. All library card accounts are updated every year, at which time we ask that proof of address is provided and your information verified.
How do I access my account online?
To access your account online, you can click on the My Account link. You will then need to enter your library card number and PIN(the last four numbers of your phone number) to log in.
What is my PIN/password?
Your PIN/password is the last 4 digits of the telephone number we have on record for you. If you have a student account, your PIN is your four digit birth year. It is used to log in to your library account online and when accessing the library's public computers.
How many items can I check out?
You can have up to 50 items checked out on your card at any one time, including a maximum of 10 DVDs.
How long can I keep checked out items?
Regular books, audiobooks, and music CDs are loaned out for a 3 week period. New Books and Interlibrary Loans, for 2 weeks. DVDs check out for one week. Renew your items online by using your library card number and your PIN. You can also call us at 623-333-2665.
Will you let me know if my items are late?
When you check out your materials, you will get a receipt with the items and their due dates listed. If you have an e-mail address on file with us, you will receive a 3-day courtesy advance notice letting you know your items are coming due. Keep your contact information current, as the library is not responsible for late or non-delivery of notices.
How do I put items on hold?
You can reserve a title on our website through our online catalog. You can also call us at 623-333-2665 and we will put the item on hold for you. You will need to have your library card number and PIN available to place a hold. You will be notified via email when your item becomes available. The item will be held for pickup for 7 days.
How do I return checked out items?
You can return your items inside the libraries using our self-check-in kiosks. Outside book drops are also available 24 hours a day for your convenience.
What if you don't have the book I want?
Items not available through the Avondale Public Library can be requested through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service. There is no fee for requesting items through Interlibrary Loan unless required by the loaning library. CD's and DVD's are not available through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
How much are your fines?
The fine for books, audiobooks, music CDs, and magazines is $.20 per day. The fine for DVDs is $1.00 per day and the fine for Interlibrary Loans (ILLs) is $2.00 per day.
How can I prevent fines?
Use the outside book drop or use the self-check-in to return your items on time. You may also renew most items. Items that are eligible for renewal will automatically renew 2 days before they're due. You can also renew your items manually 3 ways: online, by phone (623-333-2665), or in person.
How does automatic renewal work?
Items that are eligible to renew will automatically renew 2 days before they're due up to 5 times. Stopping conditions that will block a renewal include:
Item has been renewed 5 times already
Another patron has requested your item
Item is an interlibrary loan (ILL)
Your account has expired
Your account has fees of $10.00 or more assessed
If you have an email address on file with the library, you will receive a reminder notice of checkouts that will let you know the due dates and whether or not items have renewed. While automatic renewal is a convenient feature, it is still the patron's responsibility to keep track of their item due dates as renewals may not process due to the stopping conditions mentioned above. To check the status of your account and items checked out, please login to your library account or call the library at 623-333-2665.
I owe fines. Do I have to pay them today?
As long as your fines are under $10.00 you may check out items and have library computer usage privileges. Once your fines go over the $10.00 limit, you must pay them down below that limit in order to check out items or use library computers.